Canadian and Proud

February 22, 2014

I woke up this morning and thought what a great day to be Canadian.  We live in a great nation with a good healthcare system, a strong education, peaceful and free. The world, for the most part loves us, thanks to decades of peacekeeping and military aid.  Having said all that the best reason to be Canadian is because we kicked some U.S. butt at the Olympics.  We told the world don’t mess with us because we are curling and hockey champs.  These are our games and if you want the gold you have got to step up to the plate.  We were the first nation in modern Olympics to win both male and female gold in curling.  I’ll admit I don’t know much about the game and I don’t know if I will ever participate in a match.  I don’t like sweeping and I don’t like being in cold places so that pretty much rules that game out.  If they could come up with curling on a beach, I would consider it.  The fact that my ignorance of the game is apparent does not mean I can’t appreciate the task that this group of men and women has accomplished.  Then there was Thursday’s gold medal game in women’s hockey.  What a fine example of keeping your composure, persevering and showing the world that it is never over until, excuse the cliché, the fat lady sings.  How about our men’s hockey team stepping up and getting the job done defeating the U.S. team 1-0 making it to Sunday’s final.

Did we feel great because our nation won, or did we feel great because we beat the United States?  Our friends to the south have always been our rivals.  I think as Canadians we have a tendency to compare ourselves to this great nation, known the world over as a super power.  They may have world famous movie stars, New York delis, and Chicago Jazz but we have gold in curling, and president Obama owes Prime Minister Stephen Harper 2 cases of beer.  It better be Canadian beer because we make that better too.

Cheers

Grace

Owner/operator

TASTE

www.tastepc.com

Leave a comment