sometimes the truth is painful

 

February 19, 2014

Have we gotten to the point where we cannot say anything without offending someone?  We cannot disagree with any group or religion or culture without being called homophobic, or bigot or racist.  People need to stop worrying about what other groups do or say.  Just because you don’t agree with it doesn’t mean you are right and everyone else is wrong.  A McGill university student politician learned the hard way that comedy is not politically correct.  Hoping to relieve some tension during exam time, he sent a video that had been going viral on the internet.  The video has President Obama kicking open a door and the caption read “Honestly midterms get out of here”.  The video had been on the internet for a while and had already been on late night television shows.  Someone took offence to this saying the video portrayed the stereotype of young black men being aggressive and violent. He was accused of being racially insensitive, asked to apologize and undergo sensitivity training.   Is the stereotype of young black men being aggressive brought onto their community by young black men being aggressive?  According to the United States Justice Department 37% of homicide offenders between1980-2008 were black men between the ages of 18-24. There are many reasons for this statistic but the fact remains it is a statistic.  I have seen the video and the last thing I thought about was a stereotype of young black men.

At least once a week I get a comment about how I don’t look Portuguese.  I don’t have black curly hair or hairy arms and the next time that happens I am going to go to the Human Rights Commission and demand an apology and sensitivity training.  Give me a break.   When people make comments about how Portuguese people are great cleaners or only work in construction, the only thing I think about is how pathetic the person is for saying that. Does it mean they are completely incorrect?  Not really because there are a lot of Portuguese people who are cleaners and construction workers.  The Portuguese community has given themselves the stereotype.   Does the person making the comment believe that all Portuguese people fall into that category?  I hope not but if they do, I know the real situation so who cares what they think. I feel sympathy for their ignorance.  Even if I bother to make a comment to correct them, I know it is a waste of time.

There are genuine cases of hatred and bigotry and any form of aggression or malice should never be tolerated, but there are also cases when there is some truth to what is being said. It is not always easy to look in the mirror and ask did I have anything to do with this belief.  Does it really matter to me what everyone says or thinks at all times or am I confident enough to know what I contribute to society.

Cheers

Grace

Owner/operator

TASTE

www.tastepc.com

Leave a comment